Wednesday, September 07, 2005

Remix of a previous blog entry

Play it: Bloc Party Silent Alarm Remixed

The idea of releasing an album remixing every song in order from one album is audacious. If said album is your debut, then it's even more so. To do it a mere six months after the original's release is ambitious on top of audacious. To pull it all off with a great release like Silent Alarm Remixed is... well... genius.

First off, it should be noted that, unlike other remix projects, this isn't for dancing. It's a bizarro-world remix, where the original is far more dance-oriented then the remix project, which is just as well, as the highlights of this album are far far from the dance floor.

The best and worst things about the Silent Alarm original release make it perfect for a project like this. First and foremost, every song on the album is single-worthy... and fourteen of 'em no less. When they looked around for folks to take this on, they didn't have to worry about peddling any songs that weren't desirable.

An interesting thing with this release is right about the point that the original album starts to wear after repeated listenings, is where it is most magical here. Take M83's mix of "Pioneers", or AUTOMATO's Remix of "Price of Gas" on through Four Tet's beautiful reconditioning of "So Here We Are." This is followed by the only full on cover, Death From Above 1979's great take on the rip-roaring "Luno."

On the great original recording, lead singer Kele's vocals were wrought with emotion throughout which, admittedly, can feel tiresome after repeated listenings. But here, it makes for a more interesting mix... there's more vocals to pull from, and in the hands of the great collection artists, it's used very well.

DFA covers Bloc Party
Best on the Bloc
Who is this year's Franz Ferdinand?

tags: , , ,


drake leLane said...

Bloc Party - Silent Alarm Remixed

* "Like Eating Glass (Ladytron Zapatista Mix)" - Bloc Party/Ladytron
* "Helicopter (Whitey Version)" - Bloc Party/Whitey
* "Positive Tension (Blackbox Remix)" - Bloc Party/Blackbox
* "Banquet (Phones Disco Edit)" - Bloc Party/Phones Disco
* "Blue Light (Engineers 'Anti-Gravity Mix)" - Bloc Party/Engineers
* "She's Hearing Voices (Erol Alkan's Calling Your Dub)" - Bloc Party/Erol Alkan
* "This Modern Love (Dave P. and Adam Sparkle's Making Time Remix)" - Bloc Party/Dave P. and Adam Sparkle
* "The Pioneers (M83 Remix)" - Bloc Party/M83
* "Price Of Gasoline (AUTOMATO Remix)" - Bloc Party/Automato
* "So Here We Are (Four Tet Remix)" - Bloc Party/Four Tet
* "Luno (Bloc Party vs. Death From Above 1979)" - Bloc Party/Death From Above 1979
* "Plans (Replanned by Mogwai)" - Bloc Party/Mogwai
* "Compliments (Shibuyaka Remix by Nick Zinner)" - Bloc Party/Nick Zinner

Courtney said...

thanks for coming by earlier, great blog you have here.