Wednesday, April 12, 2006

A teenage riot in the Library of Congress

Play it: The National Recording Registry 2005

It was just announced that Sonic Youth's breakout 1988 album Daydream Nation will be added to the Library of Congress' National Recording Registry, as part of 50 recordings for 2005's selections. Add to that Frank Zappa's We're Only In It For the Money, and you have the door swinging a bit wider for some other 'out there' significant recordings to make it in.

Since 2000, the Library selects musical and spoken word recordings that are at least 10 years old and deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant" for inclusion in the permanent collection. That means that Guided By Voices' Bee Thousand (1994,) and Pavement's Slanted & Enchanted (1992) are both now eligible. But my vote's for Prince's Dirty Mind (1980,) because if you're going to dream, might as well dream big (and dirty.)

Other additions include Stevie Wonder Songs in the Key of Life, Jimi Hendrix Are You Experienced?, Gil Scot-Heron's "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised" and a lot more.

tags: , , , , , , ,

1 comment:

drake leLane said...

The National Recording Registry 2005

* "Teen Age Riot" - Sonic Youth
* "Sir Duke" - Stevie Wonder
* "Will The Circle Be Unbroken" - Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
* "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised" - Gil Scott-Heron
* "Let's Make The Water Turn Black" - Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention
* "Purple Haze" - Jimi Hendrix Experience
* "Every Day I Have The Blues" - B.B. King
* "Dancing In The Street (Single Version)" - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
* "Take Five" - The Dave Brubeck Quartet
* "That'll Be The Day" - Buddy Holly
* "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On" - Jerry Lee Lewis
* "Blueberry Hill" - Fats Domino
* "Move On Up A Little Higher" - Mahalia Jackson
* "Mari Jole Blon" - Harry Choates
* "Straighten Up And Fly Right" - Nat King Cole
* "John, The Revelator" - Golden Gate Jubliee Quartet
* "One O'Clock Jump" - Count Basie
* "Wabash Cannonball" - Roy Acuff
* "Ol' Man River - Remaster of the Original 1932 Recording" - Paul Robeson
* "Singin' The Blues" - Frankie Trumbauer & His Orchestra
* "Crazy Blues" - Mamie Smith