Thursday, October 01, 2009

Now Downloading: New Releases 09.29.09

Compared to last (and especially next) week, it's a sparse one for new releases. The Avett Brothers major label debut tops the list, at least for me. The other headliners are mainly compilations, one being the 7 Worlds Collide benefit album (featuring Jeff Tweedy, Neil Finn, Johnny Marr and more) along with soundtracks Where the Wild Things Are (Karen O & friends) and Whip It! (a hodgepodge including Jens Lekman). Then there's a new one from the mostly reunited Alice in Chains, and releases from Hope Sandoval, Zero 7 and Whip It! contributors The Ettes & Landon Pigg.

Playlist: New Releases 09.29.09

The Avett Brothers - I and Love and You
Stream / Purchase [mp3]

The Avett Brothers - I and Love and YouWith their major label debut, The Avett Brothers have continued to expand their sound from the simple folk trio of their beginnings. Rick Rubin must have heard them as another The Jayhawks (whom he kind of owns), as with the harmonies and the lushly arranged ballads (like the title track) filtered through Southern sensibilities. (The brothers seemingly rewrote "Let it Be" several times here.) Sure, there are a few uptempo numbers (like the exceptional "Kick Drum Heart"), but it's the slower numbers that rule the day. There is some exceptional songwriting here, which bodes well for future releases.

Free AOL Album Stream

Karen O and the Kids - Where the Wild Things Are OSTKaren O and the Kids - Where the Wild Things Are OST
Stream / Purchase [mp3]

More on the radar (and in the mp3 player) this week:
7 Worlds Collide - Sun Came Out / Free AOL Album Stream
Alice in Chains - Black Gives Way To Blue / Free AOL Album Stream
Whip It [Music From The Motion Picture] / Free AOL Album Stream
The Raveonettes - In & Out of Control (AOL Album Stream a week early)
Zero 7 - Yeah Ghost
Hope Sandoval & the Warm Inventions - Through The Devil Softly / Free AOL Album Stream
Metalocalypse: Dethklok - Dethalbum II
Miranda Lambert - Revolution / Free AOL Album Stream
The Ettes - Do You Want Power / Free AOL Album Stream
Kill Hannah - Wake Up the Sleepers
Panther - Entropy
Beaujolais - Admirations
Landon Pigg - The Boy Who Never / Free AOL Album Stream
Melvins - Chicken Switch
Drivin' n' Cryin' - Great American Bubble Factory
Langhorne Slim - Be Set Free / Free AOL Album Stream
Elvis Costello - Live At The El Mocambo

tags: , , , , , ,

1 comment:

Shawn Anderson said...

New Releases 09.29.09
1. I and Love and You - The Avett Brothers
2. All Is Love - Karen O And The Kids
3. Girl Make your Own Mind Up - 7 Worlds Collide
4. Check My Brain - Alice in Chains
5. Black Gloves - Goose
6. Baby featuring Raheem DeVaughn - Ghostface Killah
7. Mr McGee - Zero 7
8. Wild Roses - Hope Sandoval and the Warm Inventions
9. The Gears (album) - Metalocalypse: Dethklok
10. Only Prettier - Miranda Lambert
11. I Can't Be True - The Ettes
12. Karen's Knees - Beaujolais
13. A Ghost - Landon Pigg
14. She Chokes Her Dying Breath & Does It In My Face (Remixed By V/VM) -
15. (Whatever Happened To the) Great American Bubble Factory - Drivin' N' Cryin'
16. We Are London - Madness
17. Sockable Face Club - Cherry Poppin' Daddies
18. Say Yes - Langhorne Slim
19. Ignorance - Paramore
20. Radio Radio (Live At The El Mocambo) - Elvis Costello
21. Celebration - Madonna
22. Love - The Brian Jonestown Massacre
23. This Is Why You Love Me - The Brian Jonestown Massacre