Thursday, October 18, 2007

No... I'm Bob Dylan!

The much talked about soundtrack to the much talked about Bob Dylan film I'm Not There (directed by Todd Haynes,) has a preview of a few tracks streaming at Sony's Bob Dylan site. Sufjan Stevens, Cat Power and My Morning Jacket's Jim James are the tracks streaming, but that's just three of the 34 grand total songs on the album.

Playlist: Bob Dylan - I'm Not There (Originals)

Besides the above three, some of the other performers include Stephen Malkmus, The Hold Steady, Willie Nelson, Yo La Tengo, Calexico, Iron & Wine, Antony & The Johnsons, Mark Lanegan and Once's Glen Hansard & Markta Irglov.

Todd Haynes and music supervisor Randall Poster previously hooked up for the David Bowie/Lou Reed/Iggy Pop/Brian Eno fantasy Velvet Goldmine, and they've revisited what they did with the soundtrack there, employing the use of a 'house band' (VG featured two backing bands, the Venus in Furs -- featuring Radiohead; and the Wylde Ratts -- featuring Sonic Youth.) This time around, the backing band again features Sonic Youth (guitarist Lee Renaldo, drummer Steve Shelley) along with Television's Tom Verlaine, current Wilco guitarist Nels Cline, keyboardist John Medeski and Dylan bass player Tony Garnier.


drake leLane said...

Bob Dylan - I'm Not There (Originals)

1. All Along The Watchtower - Bob Dylan
2. As I Went Out One Morning - Bob Dylan
3. Ballad of a Thin Man - Bob Dylan
4. Billy 1 - Bob Dylan
5. Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window? - (single) - Bob Dylan
6. Cold Irons Bound - Bob Dylan
7. Dark Eyes - Bob Dylan
8. Fourth Time Around - Bob Dylan
9. Goin' To Acapulco - Bob Dylan
10. Highway 61 Revisited - Bob Dylan
11. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine - Bob Dylan
12. I Wanna Be Your Lover - (unreleased) - Bob Dylan
13. Just Like A Woman - Bob Dylan
14. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues - Bob Dylan
15. Knockin' on Heaven's Door - Bob Dylan
16. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll - Bob Dylan
17. Maggie's Farm - Bob Dylan
18. Mama, You Been On My Mind (From "Bringing It All Back Home") - (outtake) - Bob Dylan
19. Man In The Long Black Coat - Bob Dylan
20. Moonshiner (From "The Times They Are A-changin'") - (outtake) - Bob Dylan
21. One More Cup Of Coffee - Bob Dylan
22. Pressing On - Bob Dylan
23. Ring Them Bells - Bob Dylan
24. Senor (Tales Of Yankee Power) - Bob Dylan
25. Simple Twist Of Fate - Bob Dylan
26. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again - Bob Dylan
27. Restless Farewell - Bob Dylan
28. Tombstone Blues - Bob Dylan
29. When The Ship Comes In - Bob Dylan
30. The Wicked Messenger - Bob Dylan
31. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere - Bob Dylan

Beth said...

I am soooooooooooo looking forward to this CD!!!!!

The Playlist said...

If you're interested, we have a review of the soundtrack (the info and tracklist of which we first broke) and the movie.

Yes, this is whatever, but it's hard watching a lazy blog like Sterogum get credit for this. We had the tracklist back in Sept.

J Shifty said...

Phew, between the infected comments and your recurring paranoid heckler, it looks like no good deed goes unpunished here at Thus Spake Drake :P

Thanks for the consistently illuminating work, capn. Chin up, and all that!