Tuesday, November 04, 2008

Now Downloading: New Releases 10.28.08/11.03.08

New releases from Deerhunter, Danielson and Q-Tip
Dropped the ball last week on the new releases, basically running out of time in a very busy week, so I'm combining them, as I don't want to let the new Deerhunter album slip by us without comment. Also from last week there's new releases from Ryan Adams and Cardinals, Eagles Of Death Metal, Bloc Party and Crystal Stilts. This week sees the highly anticipated new release from Q-Tip (see earlier post on it,) along with a compilation from Danielson, and new releases from Black Moth Super Rainbow, Travis and Megapuss.

Playlist: New Releases 10.28.08
Playlist: New Releases 11.04.08

Deerhunter - Microcastle
Stream / Purchase [mp3]

Deerhunter - MicrocastleFrontman Bradford Cox has had a very busy year, first releasing a fine album from his solo project Atlas Sound, and now the latest from his primary vehicle, Deerhunter. The timing of these albums contribute to the belief that perhaps the differences in his bands are getting to be a lot less, thanks in part to Microcastle relying more on pop conventions than past releases. There's still plenty of noise and artful moments here to be sure, but the swing to convention is concrete to the ears, and the sound is thrilling. In fact, the two songs that have the biggest impact have less to do with Cox than previous albums, "Agoraphobia" features guitarist Locket Pundt on vocals, and "Nothing Ever Happened" was mostly written by bassist Josh Fauver. The album is supposed to be reliant on pop of the 50's and 60's, and it's there if you look hard enough... like hearing The Everly Brothers through the ears of My Bloody Valentine.

Q-Tip - The Renaissance
Stream / Purchase [mp3]

Q-Tip - The Renaissance"Where have I been? I was waiting for the time to be right."

I guess the right time is election day 2008, which is amplified by the early version of the album's closer "Shaka," which earlier versions contained snippets from a Barack Obama speech (not in released version). While many folks have been waiting for Guns n' Roses' Chinese Democracy, I've been eagerly awaiting Q-Tip's latest, if for no other reason than to see if it actually saw the light of day. This is the third album QT has recorded since Amplified (1999) and the first to get a physical release (2002's Kamaal the Abstract came the closest, getting shelved by his label at the last minute after deeming it uncommercial). Needless to day, the Bush years haven't been too kind to Q-Tip. It's no wonder that The Renaissance signals a return to QT's A Tribe Called Quest days, specifically the jazz collage of Midnight Marauder, from the syncopated piano of the opener "Johnny's Dead" to Norah Jones guest vocals on "Life is Better" (the best song she's ever sang on, in my book,) it's apparent that QT is back.

More on the radar (and in the mp3 player) this week (AOL Streams rollover 10/27)
Ryan Adams - CardinologyRyan Adams - Cardinology
Eagles Of Death Metal - Heart On
Bloc Party - Intimacy
Crystal Stilts - Flashy
The Darling Downs - From One to Another
Larkin Grimm - Parplar
Lucinda Williams - Lu in 08
Kaiser Chiefs - Off With Their Heads
School Of Seven Bells - Alpinisms
Snow Patrol - A Hundred Million Suns
Cobra Verde - Haven't Slept All Year
The Damned - So Who's Paranoid
I Am Robot And Proud - Uphill City
Juliette Commagere - Queens Die Proudly
Fight Bite - Emerald Eye
O Death - Broken Hymns, Limbs and Skin
OMFGG - Original Music Featured On Gossip Girl No. 1
Pere Ubu - Dub Housing
Danielson - Trying HartzDanielson - Trying Hartz
Black Moth Super Rainbow - Drippers EP
Megapuss - Surfing
Travis - Ode to J. Smith
Dragonette - Galore
Eulogies - Eulogies
Little Joy - Little Joy
Paul Weller - Weller at the BBC
Tipsy - Buzzz
Prototypes - Synthetique
HushPuppies - Silence Is Golden
Curumin - Japanpopshow
Drew Andrews - Only Mirrors
Thunder Power - Love Yourself
Johann Johannsson - Fordlandia
The So So Glos - Toursim/Terrorism

tags: , , , , , , ,


drake lelane said...

New Releases 10.28.08
1. Agoraphobia - Deerhunter
2. Go Easy - Ryan Adams
3. WannaBe in L.A. - Eagles Of Death Metal
4. Halo - Bloc Party
5. Crystal Stilts - Crystal Stilts
6. Gather 'Round (Stomp it Down) - The Darling Downs
7. Ride That Cyclone - Larkin Grimm
8. For What It's Worth (Live In Greensboro, NC) - Lucinda Williams
9. Never Miss A Beat - Kaiser Chiefs
10. Face to Face on High Places - School Of Seven Bells
11. Take Back The City - Snow Patrol
12. Wildweed - Cobra Verde
13. Little Miss Disaster - The Damned
14. The Only One - The Cure
15. Uphill City - I Am Robot And Proud
16. Overcome - Juliette Commagère
17. Never Let Go - Fight Bite
18. The Missing Piece [Feat. Lizzie Huffman] - Forgive Durden
19. Fire On Meshtigo - O'Death
20. Predator / Prey - Brown Wing Overdrive
21. Time To Shine - Queen
22. The Space For This - Cynic
23. Bounce - Black Milk
24. Poker Face - Lady GaGa
25. So What featuring T-K.A.S.H. - Paris
26. Sober - Pink
27. Walk On The Wild Side - Jesse Malin
28. Everybody Knows - John Legend
29. Edge Of The World - Emery
30. Crimewave - Crystal Castles
31. Another Way To Die - David Arnold
32. Baby Don't Do It - Cause Co-Motion!
33. Five Feet High And Rising - Johnny Cash
34. Life Is A Highway (Remastered Version) - Rascal Flatts
35. King Of California - Dave Alvin
36. Walk On By (2008/Live In Sydney) - Burt Bacharach
37. On The Surface - Pere Ubu

drake lelane said...

New Releases 11.04.08
1. Gettin Up - Q-Tip
2. Body English - Danielson
3. Black Yogurt - Black Moth Super Rainbow
4. Duck People Duck Man - Megapuss
5. J. Smith - Travis
6. Competition - Dragonette
7. One Man - Eulogies
8. Brand New Start - Little Joy
9. Wild Wood - Paul Weller
10. A Night On The Town - Tipsy
11. Un Coup De Langue - Prototypes
12. Lost Organ - HushPuppies
13. Compacto - Curumin
14. I Could Write A Book - Drew Andrews
15. Casanova - Thunder Power
16. This Picture Of Us. P. - Max Richter
17. Melodia - Johann Johannsson
18. My Block - The So So Glos
19. Conceptual Paths - Tom Gabel
20. Shape Of Light - Lukestar
21. Money For That - Shiny Toy Guns
22. The Slow Club - Matt Alber