Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Now Downloading: New Releases 04.15.08

After last week's riches, it's hard not to feel a bit of a letdown. However, thanks to some early arrivals from The Black Angels, Lyrics Born and Make Believe along with the new releases from M83, Black Francis, The Child Ballads, The Brian Jonestown Massacre and The Kooks, it's still a better than average week for releases.

Playlist: New Releases 04.15.08

Album: The Black Angels - Directions to See a Ghost

The Black Angels - Directions to See a GhostThe latest from Austin's The Black Angels isn't actually due in stores for another month, but through the ingenuity of Drake fave label Light in the Attic Records, you can go to participating stores and buy a pre-sale card for $12.99, which gives you a unique online code to download tracks from LITA. Then, once May 13th arrives, you can go back to the store and pick up your deluxe embossed CD digipak release, with bonus CD EP of 4 unreleased tracks. It's a brilliant move on LITA's part, even knowing that this is The Black Angels last release on the label (they've since signed on with Interscope imprint Suretone). Because the virtual purchase also also buys you the CD, Directions to See a Ghost should get a corresponding spike on Billboard it's first week. Still won't be top 40, mind you, but it's bound to get LITA a heatseeker notice, which is a good way for the Angels to leave the label that gave them their start. Enough about the delivery of Directions -- how does it sound? Is saying it's Passover pt. 2 a bad thing? It might be pure laziness on my part, but if you liked their debut, you're going to like this one as well. The hypnotic Velvet Underground-meets-13th Floor Elevators sound is still on full display, should be enough to go on. If the one-two punch of openers "You On The Run" and "Doves" doesn't grab you, then try "Mission District," which effortlessly transports you to the Bay Area's pyschedelic past.

Full Album Stream

Album: Lyrics Born - Everywhere At Once

Lyrics Born - Everywhere At OnceListening to the Bay Area's Lyrics Born won't get you any street cred, but who needs the street when planning a party. LB's funk grooves and good time party rap aren't the kind of joints that speak of a hard-knock life, but the good natured funk grooves are too infectious to worry about being 'authentic.' He's no Young MC, though, as LB's got a full band behind him now, recalling some of the Gap Band grooves along with party beats not unlike those that Afrika Bambaataa employed during his heyday. Hot tracks like "Don't Change," "Hott 2 Deff" and "I Like It, I Love It" will make many mixes in the coming summer, each proof in their own way that there's no shame in loving a little LB.

Full Album Stream from AOL

Album: M83 - Saturdays=Youth

M83 - Saturdays=YouthFrenchman Anthony Gonzalez (aka M83) gives up some of the My Bloody Valentine layered guitars for an ode to 80's synth acts like Cocteau Twins and early Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (who fittingly enough, this week see the reissue of their great 1983 album Dazzle Ships). The lush 80's soundscapes explore the themes of youth, so you have to forgive the lyrics at times, which sometimes seem like the scratchings from a Pee-Chee. "Kim & Jessie" is pure 80's brilliance, capturing young lovers who have a secret hiding place, and "Graveyard Girl" is a deliberate nod in the direction of the John Hughes' film Pretty in Pink, even name dropping Molly Ringwald. Too bad this album wasn't done two years ago, as it would've been perfect for Sofia Coppola's re-imagined Marie Antoinette, with it's rich new wave textures. It's an album that hits a bullseye on the target it's aiming for, but I can't help feeling that in a month or so I won't be as drawn to it's charms, unlike, say, Pretty in Pink.

Free AOL Album Stream

More on the radar this week:
Make Believe - Going to the Bone Church (in Rhapsody a week early)
Black Francis - Svn Fngers
The Child Ballads - Cheekbone Hollows (Pop. 1/2 Life) / "Cheekbone Hollows" [mp3]
The Kooks - Konk / Free album stream from AOL
The Brian Jonestown Massacre - My Bloody Underground
Joseph Arthur - Crazy Rain / "Nothin 2 Hide [mp3]
Does It Offend You, Yeah? - You Have No Idea What You're Getting Yourself Into
Phantom Planet - Raise the Dead / Free album stream from AOL
Tristan Prettyman - Hello / Free album stream from AOL
James McMurtry - Just Us Kids
Jordan Zevon - Insides Out / Free album stream from AOL
Frightened Rabbit - The Midnight Organ Fight
The Autumns - Fake Noise from a Box of Toys / "Boys" "Killer in Drag" [mp3]
The Plastic Constellations - We Appreciate You / "Stay That Way" [mp3]
Thrice - The Alchemy Index: Vol. 3 & 4: Air & Earth
The Gossip - Live In Liverpool / "Yr Mangled Heart (Live)" [mp3]
Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD) - Dazzle Ships

tags: , , , , , , , ,


drake leLane said...

New Releases 04.15.08

1. Kim & Jessie - M83
2. Doves - The Black Angels
3. Hott 2 Deff - Lyrics Born
4. Just Green Enough - Make Believe
5. Garbage Heap - Black Francis
6. They Hunt Us We Run - The Child Ballads
7. Always Where I Need To Be - The Kooks
8. Golden - Frost - The Brian Jonestown Massacre
9. I Wanna get U Alone - Joseph Arthur
10. With A Heavy Heart (I Regret To Inform You) - Does It Offend You, Yeah?
11. Dropped - Phantom Planet
12. Hello - Tristan Prettyman
13. Ready (Brand Nu Day) - 9th Wonder
14. Just Us Kids - James McMurtry
15. This Girl - Jordan Zevon
16. I Feel Better - Frightened Rabbit
17. Boys - The Autumns
18. Black Market Pandas - The Plastic Constellations
19. The Sky Is Falling - Thrice
20. Worst Case Scenario - The Hoosiers
21. Jour Et Nuit - Christopher Bissonnette
22. Easy Now - Ketil Bjornstad
23. Lookin' For A Good Time - Lady Antebellum
24. The Worst Things Beautiful - Ours
25. Golden Train - Justin Nozuka
26. Touch My Body - Mariah Carey
27. Oh you beautiful thing - Nik Kershaw
28. Jackie Junior (Junior Boys Remix) - Sally Shapiro
29. Yr Mangled Heart (Live) - The Gossip
30. Digital Man [Snakes & Arrows Live Version] - Rush
31. Speed Racer - Everclear
32. Miles From India - Louiz Banks
33. Telegraph (2008 Digital Remaster) - Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD)

drake leLane said...

Another release this week that's not in Rhapsody is the soundtrack to Forgetting Sarah Marshall.

Here's a playlist of all the previously released tracks featured on the released soundtrack:
Forgetting Sarah Marshall
1. "Love You Madly" - Cake
2. "You Can't Break A Heart And Have It" - Black Francis
3. "Get Me Away From Here, I'm Dying" - Belle and Sebastian
4. "F-cking Boyfriend" - The Bird And The Bee
5. "Intensified '68 (Music Like Dirt)" - Desmond Dekker
6. "Baby" - Os Mutantes
7. "The Secret Sun" - Jesse Harris